interest and, in particular, films designed to interpret Canada to Canadians and to other nations. The board is responsible for co-ordinating all film and audio-visual production required by government departments, producing the material itself or tendering contracts to Canadian companies in the private sector. Its head office is in Ottawa and its operational headquarters is in Montréal.

National Health and Welfare, Department of (Health and Welfare Canada). This department was established in October 1944 under the Department of National Health and Welfare Act (RSC 1970, c.N-9). The deputy minister of national health and welfare administers nine branches: health services and promotion, health protection, medical services, corporate management, social services programs, income security programs, policy planning and information, intergovernmental and international affairs and fitness and amateur sport.

Departmental programs on health include hospital insurance and diagnostic services, medical care insurance, extended health care, health resources, food and drug supervision, narcotics control, federal emergency services, environmental health, adverse drug reaction reporting, operation of a central clearing house for poison control centres, health, medical and hospital services to status Indians and Inuit across Canada and all residents of Yukon and Northwest Territories, family planning grants and information, the promotion of healthy lifestyles and excellence in amateur sport, and government employee health services as well as assistance and consultation services to the provinces on request to assist the development and improve the efficiency and effectiveness of health services.

Welfare programs include the Canada Pension Plan, senior citizen security, guaranteed income supplements and spouses' allowances, family allowances and the Canada Assistance Plan. There are also developmental programs, including national welfare grants, and grants to groups of retired persons. Bureaus on aging and rehabilitation provide consulting services on issues related to aging and the aged and on programs to enhance the integration of disabled persons into their communities and society.

National Library of Canada. The library came into existence in January 1953 with the proclamation of the National Library Act (RSC 1970, c.N-11). The library compiles and maintains a computerized national union catalogue, representing the holdings of more than 300 Canadian libraries, to facilitate the interlibrary loan of books from major collections in the country; it compiles and publishes the national bibliography, Canadiana, in order to establish a complete inventory of what is published in Canada or relates to Canada. It administers the legal deposit regulations which require Canadian publishers to deposit copies of their publications with the library. It provides reference and information services in the social sciences and humanities, with special emphasis on Canadian studies. The library's collection of books and documents totals more than 2 million. The national librarian reports to Parliament through the minister of communications.

National Museums of Canada. This is a departmental Crown corporation established in April 1968 by the National Museums Act (RSC 1970, c.N-12) to join under one administration the National Gallery of Canada, the National Museum of Man (including the Canadian War Museum), the National Museum of Natural Sciences, and the National Museum of Science and Technology (including the National Aviation Museum). As of 1972, the corporation developed five national programs pursuant to a national museum policy designed to preserve the collections and facilitate access to them. The mobile exhibits program provides direct service to the public. The others, aimed at assisting the museum community, are: the Canadian conservation institute, the Canadian heritage information network, the international program and the museum assistance programs which make available grants and technical assistance for public programming, upgrading and purchase of equipment, professional training, registering collections, staging exhibitions, holding special activities and developing conservation capabilities.

The corporation operates under the authority of a board of trustees which reports to Parliament through the minister of communications. The board consists of a chairman, a vice-chairman (who is also secretary general and chief executive officer of the corporation) and 12 members, including two ex-officio members — the director of the Canada Council and the president of the National Research Council.

The corporation's objective is to demonstrate, and to assist others to demonstrate, the products of nature and culture, with particular but not exclusive reference to Canada, and to disseminate knowledge of Canada's natural and cultural legacy for the enrichment of present and future generations.

The corporation also records, preserves and assists others to understand the national heritage by developing, researching and maintaining collections of objects and information in accordance with generally accepted museological standards and practices.

National Parole Board. The board was established in 1959 by the Parole Act (RSC 1970, c.P-2); it has exclusive jurisdiction and absolute discretion to grant, deny or revoke day parole and full parole for inmates in both federal and provincial prisons, except for cases under the jurisdiction of provincial parole boards. The board is ultimately responsible for granting unescorted temporary absences, but in some instances delegates this authority to directors of institutions. The board also has the authority to revoke mandatory supervision.

The board has jurisdiction over persons who are serving a sentence of imprisonment as a result of any federal offence but it has no jurisdiction over juveniles or over anyone in custody who is serving a sentence intermittently. The board has authority to impose the conditions under which the parolee or inmate under mandatory supervision will live in the community. The board has responsibility under the Criminal Records Act to make recommendations to the solicitor general concerning applications for pardon.

The National Parole Board comprises 26 full-time members appointed for a period up to 10 years by the Governor-in-Council on the recommendation of the solicitor general. Temporary members may be appointed for terms not exceeding one year to substitute for full-time